CET Leadership

CET Board of Directors

CET's Board of Directors consists of members from three sectors of the community: the private sector, the public sector, and the low income sector. As volunteers, Board Members bring a wealth of knowledge and expertise to the organization.  Former members include members of clergy, community activists, teachers, business leaders, and CET Graduates.  CET wishes to acknowledge and thanks its current Board for its commitment and contribution.

Chairman, Bob Martinez, IBM

Mark Lapiz, Santa Clara County
Vice Chair, Asbjorn Osland, SJSUKarae Lisle, InnVision Shelter Network
Treasurer, Brad Maihack, HPChris Longoria, California Department of Rehabilitation
Secretary, Margaret Sanchez, California Solar ScreensRichard Okumoto, MO-City Entertainment Group
Greg Adams, Pepsi Bottling CompanyMarta Orendain, San Jose Unified School District
Pamela Barrick, CET Graduate, Prundale ChiropracticCarmen Pereida, De Anza College - Retired
Ernesto Bejarano, Santa Clara County Social Services AgencyEmerita Postlewait, Santa Clara Unified School District
Daniel Ezquerro, California State Board of EqualizationEdward J. Ramirez, CET Graduate, Boeing Satellite Development Center
Irene Gutierrez, San Jose City/Evergreen Community College DistrictJose S. Romero, Intel Corporation
 Sam Ho, San Jose City/Evergreen Community College District Jaqueline Snell, SJSU - Retired
Oscar Lamas, Santa Clara County Office of Education 

President & CEO

Hermelinda Sapien has been a member of the Executive Management Team for the Center for Employment Training (CET) since its inception in 1967. As the first Executive Secretary for CET co-founders Russell Tershy and the late Dr. Antony Soto, she was involved in the development and expansion of the program from the beginning. Establishing the Corporate Department of Human Resources; she directed this HR Department for 18 years. In 1987, as the CET program began to gain growth momentum, Ms. Sapien was appointed to the position of Deputy Director. In 1999, she was elected as the Executive Director.  Throughout her tenure, Ms. Sapien has led successful campaigns for funding initiatives and opposed funding cuts on behalf of CET at the local, state and national levels. 

Regions, Centers and Corporate Directors 

Center for Employment Training's effectiveness and stability over the last decades is because of the commitment and experience of its staff. CET's leadership direct daily operations, oversee regional trends and keep CET relevant in an ever changing world.

Region I:

  • San Jose, CA
  • Gilroy, CA  
  • Salinas, CA
  • Soledad, CA
  • Santa Maria, CA
  • Sacramento, CA
  • Watsonville, CA

Region II:

  • Coachella, CA
  • El Centro, CA
  • El Paso, TX
  • Oxnard, CA
  • San Diego, CA
  • San Bernardino, CA
  • Temecula, CA

Region III:

  • Alexandria, VA
  • Chicago, IL
  • Durham, NC

Corporate Directors:

  • CFO - Mohammad Aryanpour
  • COO - Martin Gamez
  • Contracts/MIS - Mary Jane Smith
  • Education - Tommie Guajardo


  • Financial Aid - Elsa Garcia de Leon
  • Human Resources -Yvette Galindo
  • IT - Glenn Morley
  • Government Relations - Carlos Lopez 
  • Program Development - John Diego